The Weather is Testing my Patience

5507974524_77f2593573_zThis weekend and the start of this week have been a strange one to be honest. I think my issue lies with the weather and it not knowing whether it is winter or spring.

My friend Amanda arrived from Spain on Thursday night which I was very excited for. When collecting Amanda from the airport it was raining out of the heavens and it didn’t stop until Friday evening. It’s funny to spend time with someone who isn’t used to the bad weather anymore. We always know that it’s not nice but to hear the disbelief from someone who is only home for a week is another thing. It really hits home that other countries don’t experience such horrible weather most of the year round.

Luckily for me the rain stopped for a while on Saturday and so I was able to go out for a run…and run I did! Nearly 9k! I was really proud of myself, except for a mini panic attack that happened mid-run when I was running up a steep hill and couldn’t catch my breath. Has this happened to anyone before? I don’t know what came over me, but within about 2 minutes I was fine again and ran on. It makes me want to get out again to do the same run to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

My nearly 9k run           Our Wickow hike

My nearly 9k run                                                                      Our Wickow hike

My body seems to be reacting quite well to my longer runs as although this time I was tight, I wasn’t sore like the last time. I had also managed to beat my usual 4.3k run by over 60 seconds towards the end of last week so I’m pretty pleased with how it’s all going so far.

On Sunday we went for a hike in Wicklow. Last time we were there the sun was shining and we even got a bit sunburnt but this time was a different story! Although the walk was still nice, it was bitterly cold and even snowed on and off for a while. Crazy stuff! It’s even snowing now as I type!

We have been a bit ‘snowed’ under with work, but I am hoping to go for another short run tomorrow before I go to my Mum’s for the long weekend to scoff Easter eggs and roast dinners. I know it is only a 10k race which isn’t much to some people, however I am running the mini-marathon for a really good cause. As you have probably seen at the top of my page, I am running for Dogs Aid which work tirelessly to help abandoned and abused animals. Any donation would be greatly appreciated!

“We may have bad weather in Ireland, but the sun shines in the hearts of the people and that keeps us all warm.”
Marianne Williamson

