Learning to Run

Long_Distance_Running

Although I have always been into sports growing up, I have never been much of a runner. I used to see people out running or gym bunnies running for hours on the treadmill and even though I thought it looked great, any time I tried to run I would end up wheezing, doubling over and saying to myself “I’ll stick to the cross trainer in future”.

This is one reason why it comes as a surprise to me (and I’m sure others) that I have recently signed up to run my first mini-marathon in June. Me jogging 10k/6.2 miles…and the reason why? All in aid of the charity Dogs Aid.

I will admit it, I’m a sucker for helping animals in need. We got our dog Charlie in an animal sanctuary and are currently fostering our third dog for a while. We share an office with one of the girls who volunteers for Dogs Aid, and has six dogs at any one time, and it really is heartbreaking to hear of all the stories of dogs left to fend for themselves or kept in horrible conditions. So one evening I was on Facebook and came across a post asking for people to run the Flora Women’s Mini Marathon in aid of Dogs Aid and before I had a chance to think about what I was doing I said “I’m going to run it!”

To be honest with you, training isn’t going too badly. I can nearly run 6k comfortably but I am struggling with regularly training and seeing as I only have 84 days to go I need to get this distance up. I have bookmarked and followed the likes of Women’s Running and Runtastic on Twitter, as well as downloaded the Runtastic app on my iPhone which is a GREAT help but I now need to step it up a notch so I figured if I blog about it then I have to make progress. I will also take photos on my runs to prove I am actually training!

I have set up a donation page and would really love it anyone could sponsor me to 1) keep me motivated and 2) donate to a brilliant charity who are always trying to help animals in need.

Also, I would really appreciate if anyone has any tips to stay motivated or advice on running a first 10k?

“Run the first mile with your legs, the second mile with your mind, and the third mile with your heart.”

Author Unknown

